Supporting

If you like MediaPortal please support it by making a small donation:

         Donate to MediaPortal!

Login Form

User name

Password



Forgotten your password?
No account yet? Create one

Awards

opcz_testsieger





MediaPortal contains spyware?
on 12-08-2006

On the internet some rumors are floating around that MediaPortal contains spyware

Please note that this is simply not true. MediaPortal does not contain any spyware or viruses. All our sources are free for downloading and anybody can check its spyware free. Also we received recommendations from sites like softpedia that MP is spyware free.

 

But if people download MediaPortal from some other server , bittorrent or emule link then offcourse we can not guarantee this. As always on the internet be carefull with the things you download & install on your pc. If you download MediaPortal from http://www.team-mediaportal.com then you are safe. If you decide to use a copy you got from somebody or downloaded somewhere else then be aware it might contain viruses or spyware. 

MP is adware/spyware free

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Frodo 


Users' Comments (11) RSS feed comment
Posted by Jamie, on 12-08-2006, , Guest
1. ...
Stupidity is endless in the whole wide internet. Sourceforge is hosting a Spyware app...lol...whoever stated this should stop using drugs as soon as possible.
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Poppy10, on 12-08-2006, , Guest
2. ...
This is ridiculous. I am totally obsessive about keeping spyware out of my system, and I know for sure MP doesn't have any. It's open source too, so those making the allegations should be able to come up with some evidence if it were true. 
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Derek, on 12-08-2006, , Guest
3. ...
Years ago I downloaded Trillian from an outside site. It worked fine and I archived the installation file. Flash forward a few years, I was checking out some of the archives and my antivirus kicked in and alterted me to a Trojan that was embeded within the Trillian.exe! Good thing I did not use it much back then. Like Frodo said, download your software from the manufacturer/creator's website. 
 
Derek
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Vagina, on 13-08-2006, , Guest
4. ...
ur the man Frodizzo!
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Michael, on 13-08-2006, , Guest
5. ...
Hey frodo this sucks. 
 
Its like some one is talking behind your back. 
Saying that your a snits even do you are not. 
 
And its hard to defent agains it. 
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by chili, on 13-08-2006, , Guest
6. ...
I received this email because I am a member over at htpcforums.com... 
 
Hi, I am the SsZERO over at HTPC Forums. How are you today? Fine? Great! 
 
We're contacting our members in a call to arms. We need your help to make the HTPC Forums community grow.....and stamp out our evil nemesis media portal!  
 
Media portal loves to spam HTPC websites, including ours, and we've had to block IP ranges to keep those douchebags off our site. Their software is total crap in case you were wondering (try it for yourself, if you don't mind the spyware)! 
 
ANYWAY...we're fixin' to get more activity on our forums, and besides joining (which you already have done) and posting (most of you have done) we'd like to ask you to add HTPCForums.com and/or one of your favorite topics to your del.icio.us bookmarks. 
 
What is del.icio.us? 
 
Well, if you're like us you probably heard or saw this website thrown around here and there, but ignored it due to the stupid URL. del.icio.us is just a public bookmark site, which lets you save your favorite sites and share them with others. 
 
So it has nothing to do with good food, much to our regrets, but it does help us get more exposure. Right now stupid media portal is #1 for HTPC? What the hell? Some crappy software is #1? How does THAT help anyone. It helps Media Portal propagate their spyware onto our HTPC, THAT'S ALL! 
 
Yeah, so add HTPC Forums to your del.icio.us and help us get the #1 spot for HTPC on there so we can help stop spyware from spreading. 
 
-= SsZERO =- 
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Jamie, on 13-08-2006, , Guest
7. ...
This whole thing is just an embarrassment to a forum that called himself a HTPC Forum. Its a joke, isnt it? What do we have here...a 14-year old boy jumping around screaming 'cheaters'?  
 
He should shut his forum down, I bet no one will ever take him serious again. If MP would be my project he would get an expensive letter from my lawyers.  
 
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Okay, on 13-08-2006, , Guest
8. ...
You can read the post chili ref. to here: 
hxxp://www.htpcforums.com/ index.php?showtopic=559 
 
What an a**hole!
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Downzy, on 14-08-2006, , Guest
9. ...
Just has a quick look at that forum and it seems as though he's about the only one that posts on there! I get the feeling no-one takes that forum seriously in the first place ...no wonder it doesn't rank. Maybe he should stop "Blocking" the spam and some people might actually post :) 
 
I guess that if he can't get Media Portal to work, he can't be too bright anyway. Works great for me, and my Firewall has never popped up to indicate any sort of spyware. 
 
I don't think a**hole is the right word Okay - "Knob", "Wanker", "Tosser", "Tool" would all be much more appropriate words to describe him. 
 
Cheers, 
Downzy
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by mbuzina, on 14-08-2006, , Guest
10. ...
Hi All, 
 
Just ignore this little whiner. I guess this was just a try to get some more posts to his lonley forum pages. Even if the posts he receives will be outraged, he might improve his page rank and activity index, so just leave the poor sod alone.
 
» Reply to this comment...

Posted by Jamie, on 16-08-2006, , Guest
11. ...
The guy seems to duck and cover now, nothing new heared from him. But his users keep up his glorious fight against 'spyware' ;) 
 
"you lame arsed bastards! and for the person calling them self 'HaHaHa' just makes me think MP is full of spyware! there is freedom of speech on the internet but this is text and you are cunts! Some people should have never been born. and too be honest i think MP is shit! they all are every single piece of software, even MC05 is." 
 
 
» Reply to this comment...

Add your comment



mXcomment 1.0.5 © 2007-2008 - visualclinic.fr
License Creative Commons - Some rights reserved
Last Updated ( Saturday, 12 August 2006 )
 






Status Overview

MediaPortal 1:
- Version: 1.0.0.0 RC1
- Status: featurefreeze
TV-Server:
- Version: 1.0.0.0 RC1
- Status: featurefreeze
MediaPortal 2:
- Version: tech-demo
- Status: in development
Roadmaps:
- MediaPortal 1
- TV-Server
- Installer - DeployTool
 

New Plugins/Skins

May.21 Dutch TV Channel Logo
May.21 RED (Monochrome Mod)
May.20 Monochrome 2.0
May.20 Indigo 2.0
May.18 SpinSafe 1080 v0.4

Random Screenshot


MediaPortal supports tv-cards from  

  • Digital Everywhere
  • Hauppauge
  • AVerMedia
  • Pinnacle
  • Technotrend
  • Twinhan
  • KNC One
  • Technisat
  • Dvico
  • FlyTV
  • and many more
MediaPortal, your digital video recorder - 2008 SourceForge.net Logo